Amid fears of a second Covid wave, district to go for panchayat elections today

Times News Network
Kanpur: Amid fears of a second Covid wave, the district is set to go for panchayat elections on Thursday.
Elections will be held for 4,485 village head posts, 3402 BDC posts, 1,425 zila panchayat member posts and 399 zila panchayat posts on Thursday.
Counting of votes will take place on May 2.
The district election officials have taken all necessary precautions in view of Covid-19 pandemic fears.
People would be allowed to cast their votes only after thermal scanning. Hand sanitizers will also be made available at the polling booths. Instructions have also been issued to draw circles at a distance of six feet at the polling centres. Police officials have been asked to ensure that voters strictly follow Covid-19 norms during the polling.
Seen as a semi final to the next year’s assembly election, this election will be held with ballot papers.
Voting will take place from 7 am to 6 pm at 1994 booths and in 826 voting centres. Polling parties for centres and booths were dispatched on Wednesday.
As per the schedule, the polling parties reached their respective block headquarters around 9 am and after receiving necessary material they left for their respective voting centres at 11 am.
The administration had deputed three polling personnel to assist polling officers at each booth.
Polling parties rushed for Bilhaur, Shivrajpur, Chaubeypur, Kakwan, Sarsaul, Bidhnoo, Kalyanpur, Ghatampur, Patara and Bheetergaon.
The district election officer had asked the police administration to pay special attention to sensitive and most sensitive booths and centres and video graph all such booths and centres.
Maximum 140 polling centres and 274 booths are in Ghatampur block while Kakwan has the least number of centres and booths. As per the record, as many as 38 polling centres and 77 booths are in this block.
Bhitargaon block has around 102 polling centres and 229 booths while Sarsaul block has 71 polling centres and 228 booths. Similarly, Bidhnoo block has around 76 polling centres and 226 booths.
As per the notification, the post of district panchayat president has been reserved for the Scheduled Caste candidate, therefore, to win this post, BJP and BSP have fielded their candidates in all 32 seats. SP and Congress too are in the fray for this post but have fielded lesser numbers of candidates.
Candidates backed by political parties are contesting on ‘free symbols’ allotted by the State Election Commission.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here